• Transportation Research Board

      Annual Meeting

    • Online Program Archive


Annual Meeting Event Detail

Workshop 1001

From Transport Research to Innovation: Case Study–Based Presentation of U.S. and International Experiences

Sunday, January 13, 2019      9:00 AM- 12:00 PM
Convention Center, Ballroom C
Georgios Giannopoulos, Academy of Athens,
O. A. Elrahman, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)
Sponsored by:
Standing Committee on International Cooperation (A0010)
Standing Committee on Women's Issues in Transportation (ABE70)
Standing Committee on Conduct of Research (ABG10)
Standing Committee on Technology Transfer (ABG30)

No description available


Opening  (25 minutes): 

  1. Brief introductory talks, by the chairs of the cosponsoring Committees 
  2. Keynote presentation:

Prof. George A. Giannopoulos & Prof. J.F. Munro, “Innovation Ecosystems and Basins of Attraction: A systemic approach to innovation in the Transport sector”.

Part I: Innovation infrastructures” (75 mins)

Coordinator: Hau Hagedorn, Associate Director, TREC at Portland State University,
representing standing Committee on Conduct of Research (ABG10).


  1. Carlo Borghini, Executive Director Shift2Rail, “Innovation infrastructures in the European R&I Programme Shift2Rail”, (15 mins).
  2. David Leopold, Director of product management, City-Tech collaborative, UILabs and CityTech - an example of innovative Innovation support infrastructures (15 mins)
  3. Georgia Aifadopoulou, Research director, CERTH/HIT and Managing Director of the Thessaloniki Technology Park, The ThessIntec innovation city project of Thessaloniki, Greece (15 mins)
  4. Ferenc Pekár, Project leader TRIMIS & Mr. Anastasios Tsakalidis Scientific Project Officer, EC/JRC , “TRIMIS, the EU knowledge hub for Transport Research and Innovation - Catalyzing the transport innovation revolution", (15 mins)
  5. Discussion (15 mins)

Part II: Inducing implementation of research results (75 mins)

Coordinator: Patrick C. Casey, CEO, CTC & Associates LLC, representing standing Committee on Tech Transfer (ABG30).


  1. Dunham Kjersti Kvalheim, Project manager, Norwegian Public Roads Administration, The Coastal Highway Route E39 Programme in Norway”, (15 mins)
  2. Breton Johnson, Director, Center for the Commercialization of Innovative Transportation Technology, Northwestern University, Commercialization of research results at Northwestern University”, (15 mins)
  3. Prof. Yidong Li, Beijing Jiaotong University, Innovation in Big Data Analytics and Applications in Intelligent Railway Systems in China”, (15 mins)
  4. Frank Smit, Policy officer EC/DGRTD&I/H1, Inducing implementation of research results: The EU’s DG RTDI experience”, (15 mins)
  5. Discussion (15 mins).


Closing remarks (5 mins)

Title Presentation Number
Innovation Ecosystems: A Systemic Approach to Innovation in the Transport Sector
Georgios Giannopoulos, Academy of Athens
John Munro, University of Maryland, College Park
Show Abstract View Presentation
Innovation Infrastructures in the European R&I Programme Shift2Rail
Carlo M. Borghini, Shift2Rail
Show Abstract
UILabs and CityTech: An Example of Innovative Support Infrastructures
David Leopold, City Tech Collaborative
The ThessIntec innovation City Project of Thessaloniki, Greece
Georgia Aifadopoulou, Centre for Research and Technology Hellas - Hellenic Institute of Transport
TRIMIS, the European Union Knowledge Hub for Transport Research and Innovation: Catalyzing the Transport Innovation Revolution
Ferenc Pekar, European Commission
Anastasios Tsakalidis, European Commission
Show Abstract
The Coastal Highway Route E39 Programme in Norway
Kjersti Dunham, Norwegian Public Roads Administration
View Presentation
Commercialization of Research Results at Northwestern University
Breton Johnson, Northwestern University
View Presentation
Toward Big Data Analytics and Applications in Intelligent Railway Systems
YIDONG LI, Beijing Jiaotong University
Show Abstract View Presentation
Inducing implementation of Research Results: The European Union’s DG RTDI Experience
Frank Smit, European Commission
View Presentation