• TRB 100th Annual Meeting - A Virtual Event

      January 24–28, 2021

    • Online Program

Annual Meeting Event Detail

Workshop 139

Multimodal Mobility and Sharing Economy: Shaping the Future Market Through Policy and Research, Part 1 (Part 2, Session 186)

Sunday, January 10 9:00 AM- 12:00 PM ET
Susan Shaheen, University of California, Berkeley,
Prachi Vakharia, Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA)

Sponsored by:
Standing Committee on Innovative Public Transportation Services and Technologies (AP020)

This one-day workshop features speakers from the shared mobility sector. Leaders in industry, government, and academic thought will present and participate in panel discussions with the audience about the latest developments and understanding in shared-use mobility, smartphone apps, automated vehicles, and paratransit and rural and suburban applications, with emphasis on multimodal connections. The workshop ends with interactive breakout sessions and reports on next steps and future research.

Session 1: 9:00am to 9:30am

Workshop Overview & Participant Introductions


Susan Shaheen, TSRC, UC Berkeley and Prachi Vakharia, RideAmigos

Session 2: 9:30am to 10:30am

Setting the Stage: What’s New in Shared Mobility?

Moderator: Timothy Papandreou, San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency 


Susan Shaheen, Co-Director, Transportation Sustainability Research Center, University of California, Berkeley

Gabe Klein, Fontinalis Partners, LLC

Sarah Hunter, GoogleX

Katherine Kortum, Transportation Research Board

Dana Lipp, ShipBird

BREAK: 10:30AM TO 10:45AM

Session 3: 10:45am to 11:45am

Smart Phone Apps

Moderator: Allen Greenberg, FHWA


Regina Clewlow, Ridescout

Pete Gould, Uber

Martin Schroeder, American Public Transportation Association, Chief Technology Office

Timothy Papandreou, San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency

Michael Weaver, RideAmigos

Audience Feedback: 11:45am to Noon

Moderators: Susan Shaheen, TSRC, UC Berkeley and Prachi Vakharia, RideAmigos


Session 4: 1:30pm to 2:30pm

Paratransit/Rural & Suburban Applications

Moderator: Stephen Zoepf, MIT


Emily Castor, Transportation Policy Director, Lyft

Jennifer OBrien, Hopista, Founder

Jeff Maltz, SilverRide, Founder/CEO

Kim Charlson, American Council of the Blind

Art Guzzetti, American Public Transportation Association

Interactive Breakouts: 2:30pm to 3:30pm

Moderator, Automated Vehicles: Matt Lesh, Noblis and Bob Sheehan, ITS Joint Programs Office

Moderator, Paratransit & Rural/Suburban Applications: Autumn Bernstein, UC Davis and Deron Lovaas, Natural Resources Defense Council

Moderator, Planning/Modeling: Clint Daniels, San Diego Association of Governments and Jeff Spencer, The Federal Transit Administration

Moderator, Integration with Public Transit/Apps: Steve Raney, Transportation Consultant, and Mathew George, Bridj

BREAK: 3:30PM TO 3:40PM

Moderators Report Back: 3:40pm to 4:20pm

Final Wrap Up: 4:20pm to 4:30pm


Susan Shaheen and Prachi Vakharia

Title Presentation Number

DISCLAIMER: All information shared in the TRB Annual Meeting Online Program is subject to change without notice. Changes, if necessary, will be updated in the Online Program and this page is the final authority on schedule information.