January 9-13, 2022
Washington, D.C.
TRB 101st Annual Meeting

War Games Come to TRB: May the Best Plan for Connecting Technology and Policy Win

Sunday, January 7, 2018, 1:30 PM-4:30 PM, Convention Center 2018
Julie Lorenz, Kansas Department of Transportation; Andrea d'Amato, Massachusetts Department of Transportation, presiding
Sponsored by Standing Committee on Strategic Management (Changed to AJE10 on 4/15/2020); Standing Committee on Management and Productivity (Merged with ABG20 to form Standing Committee on Workforce Development and Organizational Excellence, AJE15, on 4/15/2020); Standing Committee on Transportation Issues in Major Cities (Changed to City Transportation Issues Coordinating Council, A0030C, on 4/15/2020); Standing Committee on Statewide Multimodal Transportation Planning (Merged ADA10, ADA20, ADA30, ADB50 to form AEP10 and AEP15 on 4/15/2020); and Standing Committee on Transportation and Economic Development (Merged with ADD30 to form Standing Committee on Economic Development and Land Use, AMS50, on 4/15/2020)

New technologies likely will create winners, losers, and unanticipated ripple effects. How can technology, public policy, and market forces align to achieve the greatest societal benefits? Building on the National Cooperative Highway Research Program's Foresight 750 series, this workshop offers the chance to participate in an open-ended competition to develop a transformational solution to the challenge of integrating policy and technology. Preassigned teams may work on solutions before the TRB Annual Meeting or may choose to observe TRB’s first-ever war game. The War Game is also being supported by the new National Academies of Science and TRB Forum on Preparing for Automated Vehicles and Shared Mobility.

State DOT Judge
Kirk Steudle, Econolite


TRB Executive Committee Representative Judge
Roger Huff, HGLC, LLC


Federal Transportaiton Agency Judge
Elizabeth Alicandri, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)


Academic Judge
Gregory Winfree, Texas A&M Transportation Institute


CAV Judge
Peter Sweatman, CAVita LLC


Metropolitan Planner Judge
Anne Strauss-Wieder, North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority