January 13-17, 2019
Washington, D.C.
TRB 98th Annual Meeting

Innovative Doctoral Research from the Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program

Sunday, January 07, 2018, 9:00 AM-12:00 PM, Convention Center 2018
Ewa Flom, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), presiding
Sponsored by Section - Research and Education

This workshop features innovative research presented by second- and third-year Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship recipients from top universities across the nation. Their research covers a broad array of significant transportation topics, including infrastructure development and investment, safety, security, emerging green technologies, and many other relevant topics.

Patient Travel Behaviors during a Public Health Biological Event Requiring Points of Dispensing
Rachel Chiquoine, University of Delaware


Comparisons of Mandatory and Discretionary Lane Changing Behavior on Freeways
Matthew Vechione, University of Texas, El Paso


Opportunities and Limits of Crowdsourcing for the Geography and Planning of Bicycle Transportation
Greg Griffin, Texas A&M Transportation Institute


Shared-use Autonomous Vehicle Mobility Services: Operational Control Algorithms, and Impact on Urban Transit Systems
Michael Hyland, University of California, Irvine


Designing and Evaluating Roadway Safety Using Speed Metrics and Crash Severity and Frequency
Kristin Kersavage, Pennsylvania State University


Quantifying Workability, Compactability, and Cohesion Gain of Asphalt Emulsion Cold In-Place Recycling
Sadie Casillas, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville