• Transportation Research Board

      TRB 98th Annual Meeting

      January 13–17, 2019

    • Interactive Program


Annual Meeting Event Detail

Traffic Signal Timing Subcommittee, AHB25(1)

Monday 10:15 AM- 12:00 PM
Sign in to reveal location
Jim Powell, CDM Smith, presiding
Sponsored by:
Standing Committee on Traffic Signal Systems (AHB25)
Subcommittee on Traffic Signal Timing Manual (AHB25(1))


2017 TRB Annual Meeting

Traffic Signal Systems Committee

Traffic Signal Timing Subcommittee AHB25(01)


Jan. 9, 2017 10:15 am

MM Marquis Ballroom Salon 10 (M2)

    1. Welcome and Introductions (10 min)

    2. Signal Timing Subcommittee (STS):

      1. Status of NCHRP Synthesis 47-15: Traffic Signal Preemption at Intersections near Highway-Rail Grade Crossings, A. Tanaka (~10 min [~5 min presentation/5 min q/a])

      2. Status of on-going NCHRP 03-113, "Guidance for Traffic Signals at Diverging Diamond Interchanges and Adjacent Intersections", Bastian Schroeder, Kittelson & Assoc. (~10 min [~5 min pres./5 min q/a])

    3. Signal Timing Manual Training Modules and TSMO Webinar Series,

      J. Powell & E. Curtis (~25 min [~15 min presentation/10 min q/a])

      1. AASHTO Procurement – draft scope:

        1. 3 undergraduate/graduate level traffic signal training modules – marketing/outreach tool for the Signal Timing Manual: 2nd

        2. Distribute via the Operations Center of Excellence

        3. Produce TSMO Webinar Series as traffic signal training modules.

      2. Potential module topics:

    • Performance (safety and efficiency) of multimodal users at signalized intersections.

    • Development and use of performance measures for traffic signal system operation and management (Big data, other sources of data, etc.)

    • Coordinated signal timing

    • Other

      1. Relation to Every Day Counts 4 - Automated Traffic Signal Performance Measures

    1. On-Going Related Research – audience (~5-10 min)

    2. STS Potential Research Topics (~5 min)

    3. Closure

Jim Powell, Traffic Signal Timing Subcommittee Chair, powelljl@cdmsmith.com

Nithin Agarwal, Subcommittee Secretary, Nithin.Agarwal@uky.edu